Gluten-free crispbreads – summer snacking

image

I’ve just had a revelation. Hot summer’s day. High temps in the garden. Cool, light vegan snack needed! I usually knock up a salad of leaves, plain cashews, cucumber, raw onion, grated carrot and whatever else might be in my fridge/cupboard that week, drizzled with olive oil and sprinkled with rock salt and black pepper. Today I reached for some plain hummus that I’d bought in the food clearance isle – it needed eating. Hummus needs something crispy as a complementary texture, so I grabbed the GF crispbreads lurking in the cupboard. I smeared the hummus liberally, then placed sliced cooled cucumber underneath sliced boiled beetroot. Sprinkle on some ground black pepper. Et voila.

I have to say, the combination was entirely accidental, but the flavours really work – amazing. A simple, light, vegan and low calorie summer afternoon snack to quite literally “oooo” and “ahhhh” over. Yum.

About Obscure Thing

Londoner. RHS trained Horticulturist. Vegan. BSc (Hons) Zoology and Film.

One response to “Gluten-free crispbreads – summer snacking”

Leave a Reply

