Actions speak louder than words – our responsibility as consumers

The same people who say that they “love animals” will also say they “hate seeing cruelty” and that seeing images of animal suffering “makes me cry”. The same people who I’ve friended on Facebook will then tell me “Please stop posting those things on Facebook. I can’t watch them. It makes me so sad. I do eat meat and dairy and I’m not going to stop…I always try to eat free range and local meat, so I’m doing my bit.” Step back. Look at your words. Listen to your thoughts and see the absolute lie and disconnect. I’ve had the same convo a number of times with a number of ‘friends’. I think we all have them at least once. Closed eyes, closed minds. I know I’ve been unfollowed by many people (but remain friends). I’ve also been unfriended. Those who have the balls to stare down the truth will eventually make the connection and change their level of contribution towards the suffering. The rest will keep living a lie, not making the logical connection, suffering cognitive dissonance for the rest of their lives.

There's an Elephant in the Room blog

Aubrey and Gioia
Aubrey and her baby Gioia, safe at Willowite Animal Sanctuary Copyright Pete Crosbie

The things we say

All my life, I’ve heard people say, ‘I don’t believe in cruelty to animals’ and ‘I love animals’. They’re like mantras. It’s what people say to each other to reassure themselves and others that they’re good, kind people. I used to recite the same mantras myself not so very long ago which is how I know that what I’m about to say is true.

They are each an automatic utterance that bypasses any conscious awareness of action or consequence. It’s like saying ‘good morning’; it’s not tied into our thoughts or intentions, its simply a pleasantry, a social nicety. When we say ‘good morning’, we don’t consciously mean that anything about the morning is particularly ‘good’ or that we intend to take some sort of action that will result in the morning being ‘good’ to our audience.

The same is…

View original post 1,436 more words

About Obscure Thing

Londoner. RHS trained Horticulturist. Vegan. BSc (Hons) Zoology and Film.

Leave a Reply

