Coping With Animal-Cruelty-Induced Trauma As A Vegan |

http://www.sydneyveganclub.com.au/health/coping-animal-cruelty-induced-trauma-vegan/

I think that once you see the truth – once your eyes are fully prized apart – the full horror of what we do to our fellow animals today never leaves you. Part of that can be knowing you participated in it by eating meat, dairy, eggs, etc. I was traumatised for months/years. I’m still traumatised, in truth. I still find a lot of animal cruelty witness/evidence videos hard or impossible to watch.

I’m vegan 4+ years now, vegetarian since I was a kid, and I still have nights I fall asleep in tears. I no longer wake up feeling helpless, however. Veganism IS the thing that heals you; it is incredibly empowering knowing you’re not funding or condoning the animal holocaust anymore. Protesting is also empowering. Volunteering and campaigning is great.

Meeting other vegans helps a lot. Connecting and sharing with vegans is the way to lift that horrible sense of hopelessness and impotent rage. You have to believe that the world is changing. That is the only way to keep going. (It’s just so slow!)

About Obscure Thing

Londoner. RHS trained Horticulturist. Vegan. BSc (Hons) Zoology and Film.

Leave a Reply

